In The Know

LaCour Named Cotton Farmer of the Year

Posted on January 31, 2014

Staplcotn Director, George LaCour, of Morganza, Louisiana, was named 2014 Cotton Farmer of the Year at the 2014 Conservation Systems Cotton & Rice Conference in Tunica, Mississippi in January.  The Cotton Board’s Bobby Skeen recommended LaCour to receive the honor.  John LaRose, Publisher of Mid-America Farm Publications and conference host..
Read more

New Directors Elected

Posted on September 21, 2013

Staplcotn welcomed two new directors to their board at the Annual Meeting on September 18, 2013. Jeffrey James “Jeff” Hux of Sikeston, Missouri, and Frank B. Rogers III of Bennettsville, South Carolina were both elected by the membership to serve one-year terms.   Jeff Hux is a 1995 graduate of..
Read more

Allen Named to Federal Reserve Bank Industry Council

Posted on June 10, 2013

Meredith B. Allen, President & CEO, has been named to the Agribusiness Industry Council of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. The St. Louis Fed created four District Industry Councils in 2006, each designed to provide the Fed with important feedback regarding economic conditions within a key Eighth District..
Read more

Barrier Selected to Two Posts

Posted on February 18, 2013

On January 17, Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack announced the appointment of Frederick Barrier, Staplcotn VP of North American Sales, to serve with 23 other members and 11 alternates to the Advisory Committee on Universal Cotton Standards. This committee is responsible for reviewing American Upland Cotton Standards and making recommendations to..
Read more

Eastland Honored with 2012 Harry S. Baker Award

Posted on February 12, 2013

At the National Cotton Council’s 2013 annual meeting in Memphis, Staplcotn Board Chairman Woods Eastland was honored with the 2012 Harry S. Baker Distinguished Service Award. Named for the late California industry leader and past NCC President, the award is presented annually to a deserving individual who has provided extraordinary..
Read more